Play me:

Santiago Herrera

Welcome to my corner of the internet

Blog



December 31, 2023 - My favorite albums from 2023

A list of my favorite albums of 2023, plus singles and EPs.

Read more.


Posted on Nov. 19, 2023 - My Favorite Films From the 38th Mar del Plata International Film Festival

A list of my top 8 films from the 38th Mar del Plata International Film Festival.

Read more.


December 31, 2022 - My favorite albums from 2022

Here is a list of my top albums of 2022, plus some honorable mentions of other albums that I really liked. All of these albums are listed in chronological order, and they all have links to stream them on Apple Music, Bandcamp, SoundCloud and Spotify.

Read more.


December 30, 2022 - My favorite movies from 2022

A list of my top 4 movies of 2022, plus 2 music documentaries.

Read more.


December 01, 2022 - My favorite shows from 2022

In here, you'll find 6 shows whose first season premiered this year, 5 shows that already have at least one season available, and 3 limited series.

Read more.


November 20, 2022 - Interview with Stephin Merritt

Last week I had the enormous pleasure of interviewing Stephin Merritt, the mastermind behind The Magnetic Fields, The 6ths, The Gothic Archies, and the Future Bible Heroes.

You can read/watch the full interview here.


July 17, 2021 - Born on a Train cover on YouTube!

You can now go listen to my new cover of Born on a Train (by The Magnetic Fields) on YouTube!
For this cover, I only recorded guitars and vocals and programmed the rest in FL Studio.

Also, I would like to send out a big thanks to Gubos for helping me tune the vocals, and Julie for lending me her acoustic guitar ♡

Listen to my Born on a Train cover.


July 02, 2021 - New original song "Smell of Rain" on YouTube

As the title says, the demo song is called Smell of Rain, and it was made around December 2019–January 2021.

I really don't know what to say about this song, so I won't say anything.

Enjoy!


June 30, 2021 - "Born on a Train" by The Magnetic Fields [demo-cover]

Since these weeks I had a little more free time, I decided to start recording a cover of Born on a Train by The Magnetic Fields, and I thought about sharing a small preview for you, my only reader ♡

I'm still working on the drums, guitars and vocals (and hopefully it will be finished by next week), but you can listen to a stripped-down demo here:


June 26, 2021 - New song "The Way" + video!

The Baithouse Music YouTube channel (which I'm part of) has uploaded my latest demo song The Way with a nice video edited by me (footage courtesy of A/V Geeks | Archive.org).

I wrote and recorded the song in July 2019, but about a week ago I pretty much re-recorded everything (except some backing vocals) and wrote little arrangements for the synths, plus I improved the mix a bit.

Also, I'm not really a singer, so in most of my demo songs you will hear my voice going flat on various parts, but we’re just gonna ignore that ^^

You can check out the new video here.


June 25, 2021 - New demo track "Winter" on YouTube!

This was originally a jam that I recorded back in 2019 on my Fostex 4-track. If I remember correctly, I was listening to a lot of The Lonesome Crowded West by Modest Mouse. I was so inspired by Isaac's guitar playing that I wanted to record a guitar riff with lots of natural harmonics on it; so I recorded this little jam, and the next day (June 21, 2019), I re-recorded it on my computer, along with the drums and bass, and added the second part of the song (which I noticed that is a rip-off of Explosions in the Sky's Your Hand in Mine).

Click here to listen to Winter.


June 24, 2021 - I just created my first Bandcamp profile!

If you want to support my music, you can buy my first EP on Bandcamp. Includes a bonus track and the handwritten lyrics of each song in PDF format.

For now, only my first EP is uploaded, but I hope soon to be able to upload more of my songs (if I finally decide to finish them). If you want to listen to more of my songs (mainly demos), you can do it on my YouTube channel.

Link to my Bandcamp page